Up, Up and Away

I’m feeling slightly better now that I’ve realized that all the shit stuff that I need for a year will fit relatively easily into my suitcases and in fact, I’ll probably have some room to spare. Which is excellent because I’m positive that I will be doing some shopping in the next year.

I am very excited though, despite the stress of packing and organizing things for a year of being away. Of course I’m excited to see Germany for the first time, enjoy some very HOT weather, and get acquainted with the city I’ll be living in, but most of all, I’m excited to see Thomas again. 7 weeks is a very long time, and we’re both happy that it isn’t any longer!

For those of you who don’t know (or those who have forgotten!), I’ll tell you a bit about my trip.

I’m leaving on July 19th in the evening. I’m flying direct from YVR to FRA (Frankfurt). Thomas and his parents will be picking me up at the airport after my 10 hour flight and driving me back to Karlsruhe, which is the city that I’ll be living in. Karlsruhe is in the German state of Baden-Wuerttemberg, very close to the border of France and close to Stuttgart.

I have a Youth Mobility Visa which allows me to work and travel throughout the year, and I haven’t done too much planning of what I will actually do when I’m there, since a lot depends of what kind of a job I get and how much I’ll be making. I’m definitely looking forward to relaxing for a few weeks though; seeing the city, catching up with Thomas, and getting to know his family. Also, getting my brain used to German all the time. I’m not too worried about communication, but I certainly have moments of panicking, thinking that I’ll not be able to understand anyone or come up with anything to say. But I guess we’ll have to wait and see!

About sidrose

Living in Germany for a year to work, play and love.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Up, Up and Away

  1. Megan says:

    I am reconsidering your career options. Travel writer comes to mind. Actually it would fit well with translator. Don’t worry about the language blips. According to the science of language learning, unless we learn a language between ages 2 and 5, we should forget it. Nonsense.
    What a 2-5 year old doesn’t have, is experience of life. You are picking up on more than you know.
    Trust your instincts, if you have a bad language experience, it could be that you have simply run into a jerk. Personality and language are connected.
    You will learn way more from people who are like you; smart and funny. Have fun. Megan

    • sidrose says:

      Ha ha, I will definitely consider that! And as for language matters, I have no doubt that if I put my mind to it I will learn easily enough. Look at Thomas, he didn’t speak English fluently until his mid-teens, and now he speaks at a near native level. Thanks for the well wishes! Hope you’re well 🙂

Leave a comment