Deli and Donair

I mentioned yesterday that Thomas had to go into the city to register at his school (Ludwig-Erhardt-Schule, a college) and we were going to look around a bit. However, this morning we woke up to rain, so we did not end up wandering the city. Instead we just went straight to the school and back. I did see some of the city though, including the Art Gallery, S-Bahn (tram) and glimpses of the Universitaet Karlsruhe and the city Palace.  What struck me, is that for a relatively small city (~290,000 people) it was quite cosmopolitan. There were Italian, Persian, Turkish and African restaurants all over, and I even spotted a Vietnamese place. Although, by far the most popular food places were Donair (Doener) and pizza joints. They were literally everywhere! Like Starbucks in Vancouver.

On a related note I had my first proper Donair today. Thomas lamented the fact that Vancouver had sub-standard ones the entire time he was there, so there was a fair amount of hype surrounding their excellence. I was not disappointed; it was very delicious and I’m sure I will be having many more. In other delicious food news: we had lunch at a bakery and I split a Broetchen (bun) sandwich type thing, and an almond pastry with Thomas. They were both very good. Canada just does not make bread and pastries the way they do here.

We also went grocery shopping today at “Real” (pronounced Ray-al) which is kind of a mixture between Wal-mart and Save-on-Foods. All I can say is that, the selection of deli meats is astounding.

The plan for tomorrow is having a quiet day at home, and possibly go to a restaurant in the evening. Sunday we plan to go to a music festival in the city, so I’m sure I’ll have something to write after that!

Schoenes Wochenende!

About sidrose

Living in Germany for a year to work, play and love.
This entry was posted in Daily Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Deli and Donair

  1. Joyce says:

    Thank you for taking the time, Sidney, to share your experiences with us! You write well. I am so looking forwards to your next “installments”.

  2. Erik says:

    Ok just caught up on all the posts! Germany seems quite lovely! Out of curiosity is the Ludwig Erhardt school named after the awesome German Finance minister after WWII? Because Erhardt is one of my favourite economists of all times! Also (yes I know I can’t stop my economic mind) what does food cost in Germany?

    Love,
    Erik

    • sidrose says:

      The Ludwig-Erhardt-Schule is named after that German Finance minister. Haha, as for food…I’m not too sure. I’d say somewhat more expensive. But it doesn’t seem way more expensive, and I’d say some things are cheaper. Good to hear from you! let’s msn sometime 🙂

    • Sarah says:

      Erik, are you sure you are in economics. Come to the dark side…cross over into history 🙂
      Sidney Im so jealous of the food right now. I wish they had that stuff in Taiwan…

  3. Erik says:

    ewww history! I can’t stand facts and reality 😦

Leave a comment